X-T2 in the Rain

img_5174
X-T2 with the non-weather resistant 18-55
moro0665
X-T2, 18-55, ACROS and Red Filter
moro0544
A Perfect curl
moro0408
25 second exposure, X-T2 + 18-55
img_5176
X-T2, 18-55, in rain and wind.  In the 100% view, you can see the rain whizzing past the lens

 

Today was a very windy and rainy day thanks to the outer bands of Hurricane Matthew.  Since my spouse had work to do, and I didn’t want to be in the way I decided to head out to the shore and see if I can capture some of the action.

I took my X-T2 with the 18-55 mounted as I did not want to be swapping lenses in the rain on a beach, in a storm.  So I worked with what I had, even though I had all my lenses in my backpack.

The X-T2 performed flawlessly.  No complaints whatsoever.  I will mention here the X-T1, which has served me so well since early 2014 would have worked in the same, perfect way.

What I found out to be the biggest asset today was the flip-out LCD when the camera was in the vertical orientation on the tripod!  That was fantastic!  Just great.  The second amazing item was the battery life; I shot a total of 370 images, all tripod, most between 6 to 29 seconds, with long-exposure noise reduction on, AND, every single image using the rear LCD, plus, at least for me, an inordinate amount of chimping as I wanted to make sure the image was sharp due to the heavy winds.  I just checked and I still have TWO bars left!  Much, much better than my X-T1 would have done under the same circumstances.

All-in-all the X-T2 came through with flying colors, as did the 18-55 even though it spent several hours in rain from a slight drizzle, and a downpour towards the end of my day.  I was soaked, and tired, the camera could have kept going.

 

4 thoughts on “X-T2 in the Rain

  1. The third image is masterful! Like an old romantic period painting, minus the old battleships and explosions. But still, it’s brilliant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

