This Weekend…

This weekend I spent time with my grandsons; the two oldest ones… I took over 450 images of the two little boogers in total —  What camera I hear you asking?  Ok, maybe you are not but I’m tellin’ ya anyway:

I used the Nikon D800E with a 50mm lens.  I also found in my wife’s food pantry my pocket wizards, and my SB700 flash;  Why was it in the pantry?  I have no clue!  She probably found it laying around the house and decided to put it away for me.  This is pretty much all the dSLR gear I’ve left since moving to the Fuji X series.  Why didn’t I use the Fuji?  Well, silly me I left it at a relatives home after shooting there over the July 4th long weekend.  Yeah.  Left it behind.  Can you believe that!?  I can’t.

So, I had to break out the D800e.  It had been quite a while since I used it last.  The 50mm 1.8G is the only lens I have after selling or giving away everything else.  I set it to portrait color rendering,  slapped on the PW’s and the SB700 Flash and that’s what I used all day Friday, and Saturday.  And, I have to admit it was FUN!  Did I miss my Fuji X-T1?  Hell yes but, with the Fuji on CH, and 8FPS I would have shot ALOT more than the 463 images I took with the D800e.  I had the Nikon set to jpeg only which is a no-no for me; I am usually in jpeg+raw.  Here is one of the images with the D800e, 50mm 1.8G and the SB700 bounced off a white ceiling off-camera.  JPEG SOOC.  ISO 400.

IMG_4882

I will say it was awesome having the ability to easily, and quickly fire remote flash, plus the focusing speed of the D800e made for lots of images which i “may” not have been able to make with the Fuji I’m sad to say.  I hadn’t used my D800e in so long I had forgotten how fast it was.

Will I now switch back to Nikon?  Heck No!  I love, love, love Fuji and The D800e is for those times I need a bit more resolution — unlikely, but it has come up from an editor here and there  on a few occasions so I keep it around.  Besides, I only have the 50mm lens and I love the Fuji 16mm (24mm FF equivalent) so I doubt I’ll be shooting a lot of landscapes with it.  Besides, it is still so darn heavy and bulky there is no way to be stealthy with this beast — especially with the battery grip I had on which only made it bigger.

I am extremely satisfied with the images though and, well, in all honesty I spent Sunday morning pixel-peeping in LR as the 15-20MB jpegs in LR are just gloriously full of pixels and details.  🙂  Sorry.  Gear nerd took over momentarily.

As I’ve stated on Fujirumors.com and on Fuji X Forum I will be upgrading to the X-T2 probably next spring or early summer;  I’m just waiting for all the rose-colored glasses to come off so we can see the true picture (pun absolutely intended) of what it can and can’t do, what the true image quality is compared to A, B, and C, and what issues, if any, have been discovered in user reviews.  I’ve mentioned in previous posts and on the various blogs of the problems I had with my original D800 – not the “E” series, just plain ole D800.  I want to study what the non- X photographers have to say about the X-T2.  This will only happen after the camera has been released into the wild, and actually purchased and paid for by reviewers. I’m in no way saying those X Photogs who are giving us their personal experiences are not being honest – by no  means am I claiming that.  I just have a thing where I much prefer independent reviews.  Period.   The independent ones  IMHO, are the reviews that matter most.

That’s it for me.  Wrapping it up now.

Leave a Reply

