Quick Day Trip to Washington DC

A few days ago my grandson wanted to travel to DC and see the White House since he had been studying about it in school.

The night before we left for DC I packed my gear into my very lightweight Lowerpro bag with my X-T1, 18-55, 16mm 1.4 and the 12mm 2.8 lens, plus three batteries.
Wednesday morning, as I swung my legs out of bed I questioned my choices.  I’m taking my grandson to DC; this was not going to be a photo trip, this was bonding and family time.
Before my first cup of coffee, I unpacked the bag I had packed the night before.  I decided  to only take my 16mm 1.4 and the 35 1.4 plus three batteries.  That’s it.  I put the black rapid strip on the X-T1 with the 16 1.4, and put the 35 in my pocket with the extra batteries. As always, jpeg fine larger + Raw were the selected modes.  I don’t leave home without my raw setting even though for all the family images I kept the jpeg’s and dumped the raw files.  For those images I thought would make good stock, I keep the raw.
Washington DC was nothing less than I expected;  a huge, crowded, traffic filled, congested mess of cars, black SUV’s, police and security everywhere.  However, traveling with my oldest daughter and both grandsons was just pure joy.  We had a great time, saw a bunch of sites, and my grandson was super excited to finally see what he was studying in kindergarten.
Here are a few images that are already for sale on the stock site, plus a couple of family pics.  Traveling light was a joy.  Not having to worry about the gear, and bag was great.  Having two lenses made my imaging process so much easier and faster, and I remained more focused on having fun and at the same time making some wonderful personal images, as well as some great sellable grab shot images.
Leave a Reply

