No Complaints here…The Fuji 55-200

If anyone has any complaints about zooms, especially the 55-200 please take a close look at this image. The bokeh, IMHO is perfect, the color, and oh my the sharpness.  This lens is 1/3rd the price of the 50-140 2.8.  If I had to chose again, I’d still go with the 55-200.  It’s lighter, has a bit more USABLE range, it’s tack freakin’ sharp, and the bokeh is delicious.  Other than the weather sealing there is no equal. With that being said I have used the 55-200 in rain and snow with zero ill-effects.  As I mentioned in a prior post somewhere pre-digital days we went out shooting with the equipment we had. I for one was never, ever worried about my older Minolta cameras. I lived in Alaska for five years and never, ever did ANY of my lenses or cameras failed me.  I still have a Minolta X-E7 that I purchased on February 15th, 1978 ( remember the date because it was my birthday).  And it still works!  I won’t even begin to tell you the abuse that camera has taken!  Including a slight dunking which destroyed the zoom lens– a Soligor 70-300 (who remembers Soligor?);  a can of Coke spilling on it — oh what a gooey mess that was!  Add to that the rain, sleet, snow, ice and extreme cold from working in Alaska.  So to me that whole weather-sealing is just nonsense. Sorry Fuji.

Fuji X-T1, 55-200 @ 172.4mm, F5.6, 1/170th, ISO 400, Velvia, handheld
Fuji X-T1, 55-200 @ 172.4mm, F5.6, 1/170th, ISO 400, Velvia, handheld

You can see more of my work at drama king images or at my flickr feed

One thought on “No Complaints here…The Fuji 55-200

  1. Pingback: miXed zone: Anticipating the X-Pro2 design :: 35mmF2 reviews :: RAW Vs. JPEG (by Kevin Mullins) :: Macro Ring Flash deal & more! | Fuji Rumors

Leave a Reply

