Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse at Dusk

I took an impromptu 3-day trip down to the Outer Banks of North Carolina for some R & R.  This trip was NOT to photograph, but to just get some rest and get away from the daily grind.  On my desktop I left over 6,300 images I’ve yet to review, process, and get out to my various stock agencies.  I did not even bother to take my laptop or externals with me.  What did I take with me to “not” take photos?  I took my X-T1, the 18-55, 55-200, and my 16mm 1.4.  I packed a couple of filters, two SD cards and only used one, plus my extra batteries.  As far as tripods, I keep one in each vehicle so that was a given they would travel with me.

I’ve been in this area on many occasions to photograph the  incredible lighthouses and landscapes in the area.  This particular lighthouse had always eluded my attempts at getting a decent image. Either the weather, the tides, the lighting something always conspired against me.  Not this time!  Using my app Photographers Ephemeris, checking the sundown times, and tide tables I decided to drive out to the area and check it out.  I spent two hours photographing the light from the golden hour when the sun was lighting it up orange, until dark.  This is only one of my favorites of the evening.  While there, a group of photographers who were taking a class lead by an instructor showed up.  The instructor asked me about the mirrorless X-T1, and as we started chatting, each and every photographer in the group had to oooh and aaah at the quality of the camera, the viewfinder,  and the images I was shooting!  It was great to talk about and promote the X-T1 and the incredible array of Fuji lenses ieven though I was only shooting with the 18-55 at the time.  I know I missed some images as the light was changing quickly having to give impromptu guidance and lessons on the values of mirrorless-especially the Fuji!  All the photogs were hauling bags full of gear with Canon or Nikon gear;  one guy had a Sony and he stayed away from me all night!  What I found very interesting is that NONE of the photographers carried a tripod!  Are you kidding me?!  I suspect it was because they were hauling around their dSLR’s and heavy lenses.  As the light started to change, and they had already seen a few of my images on the (gorgeous LCD) and handled the camera, many of them tore out back to the parking lot to get their tripods.  But, they left their gear sitting on the dock!  Hilarious. A bunch of nice guys though — except for the Sony jerk who wouldn’t even acknowledge my presence.

Overall a very productive evening considering I wasn’t even going to photograph much on this three-day, impromptu trip.  But, who can give this up?  Especially when as I mentioned this particular lighthouse had eluded my attempts to capture it for quite a few years.  Now, I GOTCHA!

Anyway here is one of the many images.  Enjoy.

Fuji X-T1, Using the horrible (just kidding, as many people complain about this lens) the Fuji 18-55 @ 55mm, 10 seconds, F14, ISO 200, Tripod, 2-sec Self timer, Velvia, Singh-Ray 77mm Warming Polarizer, Daylight WB My copy of the 18-55 is so darn sharp that at 100% in LR I can read the sign posted on the white fence towards the left side of the lighthouse.
Fuji X-T1, Using the horrible (just kidding, as many people complain about this lens) the Fuji 18-55 @ 55mm, 10 seconds, F14, ISO 200, Tripod, 2-sec Self timer, Velvia, Singh-Ray 77mm Warming Polarizer, Daylight WB
My copy of the 18-55 is so darn sharp that at 100% in LR I can read the sign posted on the white fence towards the left side of the lighthouse.

You can see more of my stuff at:  drama king images, or at my Flickr Feed.

One thought on “Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse at Dusk

  1. Pingback: miXed zone: Anticipating the X-Pro2 design :: 35mmF2 reviews :: RAW Vs. JPEG (by Kevin Mullins) :: Macro Ring Flash deal & more! | Fuji Rumors

Leave a Reply

