Do you See a Problem here?

Well?  Do you?  I was reading some guys blog this morning and he has bashed the Fuji 18-55 before; and he was at it again.  I don’t get it.  I use the 18-55 all the time.  It’s almost a go-to lens.  I shoot stock, I shoot for pay, I shoot for me.  I use the 18-55.  I’ve made and SOLD 30″ x 20″ matted and framed images made with the 18-55.  So I have to wonder if he is just passive-aggressive, or he just has a Fuji problem.

The image here I took this morning as I was walking in a parking lot.  Nothing spectacular but the texture and colors caught my eye.  I used the 18-55.  I am betting I can sell that in stock. No problems.  This image was imported from the camera to my iPhone as a 3MB file.  It has had NOTHING done to it.  Nada.  Zip.  As far as I’m concerned it’s pretty darn good and sharp.  Imagine if I worked on the Raw file???

On a related note I do own the 23 1.4, and the 35 1.4 plus the Zeiss 12 2.8.  Are they sharper than the 18-55?  Yeah. Probably.  I would expect to be sharper or I would have returned them!  But as a stand-alone lens, the 18-55 is just amazing.  To call it a “kit lens” is a disservice to Fuji.  This is just my 2 cents worth but I’ve been using the 18-55 since I bought it bundled with the X-E1 back in February 2013.  No complaints here; as a matter of fact, in a couple of weeks I’m headed out on a stock shooting trip and the 18-55 will be mounted on the X-E1 and sitting on the seat next to me.

Fuji X-T1, 18-55 @55mm (the supposed bad area of the lens) F8, 1/320th second grab shot in a parking lot.
Fuji X-T1, 18-55 @55mm (the supposed bad area of the lens) F8, 1/320th second grab shot in a parking lot.

This is the full 3MB file.  (Click for a larger view)

More of my work can be seen at Drama King Images and at my Flickr Feed

4 thoughts on “Do you See a Problem here?

  1. Pingback: miXed zone: Ultimate Urban Camera Bag :: a 200mm Prime Telephoto on a Fuji X-E2 & more about the X-series! | Fuji Rumors

  2. Pingback: miXed zone: Ultimate Urban Camera Bag :: a 200mm Prime Telephoto on a Fuji X-E2 & more about the X-series! | Photohangout

  3. I have the 18-55 and am very disappointed with it. I sent it back to Edison, NJ and it came back just the same. I can not, for the life of, get a tack sharp shot with that lens. On the other hand I can with the 35 and the 55-200

    Like

    • Irwin,
      I’m sorry to hear that. Have you actually tried putting the camera and lens on a tripod and just shooting some images to test ti out? I’m talking self-timer, just focus on a detailed wall, or some other flat object and shoot at 2.8, 4, 5.6, 8, and 11. Have you done that? IF they are still off, I’d contact Fuji again and this time send them the darn sample images. When you place it on a tripod, turn off the OIS on the lens barrel. Let me know…
      I don’t know if you’ve been to my flickr feed but if you do go to the X Camera album and you’ll see my 18-55 images. Honestly, that’s my GO TO lens.

      Like

Leave a Reply

