The Nikon Gear is now Gone

Well, the Nikon D800 is on it’s way to it’s new home.  That was my last Nikon body.  I am keeping both Nikon flash units because I’m certain they will work with some flash triggers and the Fuji.  My 18-35G series, less than two year old lens  has been acquired by one of my kids for use on my old D700 body, and the less than six month old 50mm 1.8G she will probably get as well unless I sell it.

This pretty much empties the Nikon closet for me.  Now it’s all Fuji or nothing.  In a way I knew this day would come ever since I got my first Fuji – the X-E1 back in early 2013 together with the 18-55 lens and the 35mm 1.4.

The X-T1 came along in 2014 and I just fell in love with the handling, the files, and most of all putting the fun back into picture-taking even though I shoot for stock most of the times.  One of the best two features I’ve found?  1.  the viewfinder: It’s incredible; you can see what your image will look like before snapping the shutter! and then make necessary adjustments. I wasn’t much of a chimper before and even less of one now.  2.  The film modes. Even though I always shoot in jpeg+raw (except for odd miscellaneous family stuff) I find that setting the film mode in camera, then upon upload into LR I run the correct profile I’ve created on the raw files, truly generates some sweet looking raw files as well as jpegs.

In less than three weeks I’ll be heading out for a major stock shooting business trip.  I expect to come with with many, many images.  Well, consider this:  based on the number and size of SD cards I have in m PocketRocket, I can shoot 8,280 images, jpeg+raw, before I have to reload.  Sweet huh?

A few years ago I was out in the Southwest and came back with 11,250 images over eight days.  If you double up because of the jpeg+raw I came back with 22,500 total images.

Enough jabbering for tonight.  I’m hoping to at least start separating some gear and packing it to see how it’s all gonna fit.  Should be much easier now that the D800 and lenses won’t be going with me.  But we’ll see as I anticipate using the gear a few more times before I leave.

In closing I leave you for now with an image of one of my favorite subjects:  Lobster Floats

Found abandoned old Lobster floats. I give them a good home. Fuji X-T1, 55-200 Lens, Tripod, raw processed as Velvia Exposure not available (click for a larger image)
Found abandoned old Lobster floats. I give them a good home.
Fuji X-T1, 55-200 Lens, Tripod, raw processed as Velvia Exposure not available (click for a larger image) This is a FULL 9MB File.  Click on it at your own risk 🙂

You can see more images at my site:  Drama King Images or at Flickr

Leave a Reply

