Processing the Weekends Images

Some stats from my hiking trip on Saturday using the X-T1:
190 images taken
17 images with 18-55 Lens
173 with 55-200 Lens
One battery.  Lots of OVF work. All long exposures ranging from 1/2 second, to 20 seconds.  Chimped each image. Battery died right at the end and I had to put a fresh battery in for the last 10 or so images.
Raw and JPEG, Astia which my go-to preset on the X-T1 as “C1”
To make my workflow easier I first upload jpeg+raw as soon as I can, usually at home, or a hotel room regardless of the time. Then I run a backup before I format the SD card.   Either that same night, or as soon as possible I tend to review the images in LR Library.  I set my filter so I am  looking at only the jpegs just to get an idea of which images I want to keep and/or work on. I quickly run through the jpegs and use the “X” key to mark those images being relegated to the trash can.  Once I’ve looked at all the jpegs, I go back, remove the filter and “X” out the corresponding raw file.
Once I was done with my first pass I backup again and shutdown.  I actually walk away and don’t come back for a day or two.  This affords me some clarity, objectivity,  and detachment from the day’s work and excitement.   I find I’m more relaxed and not emotionally attached to the images after my cooling off period and that I am more ruthless in my culling and deleting of unwanted images.   For this next (second) pass I review the remaining images more carefully.  This time, i look at both my jpeg and the raw in the Library module — since i have the Astia preset built and use it as an upload preset the jpeg  matches the raw file; the reason I prefer to use the jpeg for the initial pass through is for speed — I don’t have to wait for the raw file to render when looking at the image at 100% even though this process it’s relatively fast on my Mac.  I run through the remaining images again to check the composition, clarity, sharpness, color, blur, etc.  I usually find that I will whittle down my keepers by a few more at this stage in the process.
As a side note, if I’ve taken any Panoramas, or HDR images I tend to look at those first this way I can process the final image and if happy with the results I can then save the TIFF of the final, plus the associated raw files and stack them together in the LR Library to clean up.  Or, if I’m not happy with the results of the pano or HDR, then I delete the finished product, plus all the jpeg ad raw files associated with that particular failed image series.
More to come on this trip as I have not finished selecting any images for myself, or for my stock sales.  As I said, I have to walk away from the images for a day or two…
Pano results:  6672 x 5444 (cropped) to 13 x 19”  @ 300DPI for printing, 218MB TIFF file
5- Vertical image Pano.  Processed in LR as my Astia Preset, then brought into PS6 and Automerged, cropped to print 13" x 19", saved as TIFF.  Final image size is 218MB, 6672 x 5444 pixels or 36.3 megapixels (just like my D800) Lens used: Fuji 55-200
5- Vertical image Pano. Processed in LR as my Astia Preset, then brought into PS6 and Automerged, cropped to print 13″ x 19″, saved as TIFF. Final image size is 218MB, 6672 x 5444 pixels or 36.3 megapixels
Lens used: Fuji 55-200 Click on image for a larger view

You can always see more of my work here: Drama King Images and at flickr

 

One thought on “Processing the Weekends Images

  1. Pingback: miXed zone: Fuji X-T1 Vs Sony A7r & A7s – 10 Days with the XF 90mm – Riflessifotografici X100T Review & more | Fuji Rumors

Leave a Reply

