Who said The X-T1 and the 55-200 can’t be used for sports? Not me

Well, yes you are correct in saying that the images shown below aren’t of Major League Baseball, or of a NFL Quarterback throwing the perfect pass down field.  But hey, for my purposes which consists of little league, plus some other high school and college ball games, this combination of the X-T1, with the 55-200 is perfection.  I’m getting 8FPS which is faster than my D800;  the focus on “C” was accurate enough to give me some great images of my grandson.

For the images this day, I had my 95mb/sec Lexar card.  The camera was set to JPEG only.  Film mode was Neg-Standard, Highlights at 0, Shadows +1, and Sharpness +1

All these images, Fuji X-T1 with the 55-200 lens,
All these images, Fuji X-T1 with the 55-200 lens, “C” continuous focus, 8FPS, Aperture Mode

Jacob @ T-Ball_X-T1_0801 Jacob @ T-Ball_X-T1_0803 Jacob @ T-Ball_X-T1_0804 Jacob @ T-Ball_X-T1_0805 Jacob @ T-Ball_X-T1_0807

After our game we went for a swim and I nailed a few images of my youngest grandson in the pool.  This is a Lightroom screen grab at 100%.  Look at that detail.  This was using the same exact settings as above except I had it in single focus mode.  Notice the aperture: F4.6. Pretty much wide open

LR 100% Screen Grab. Fuji X-T1, 55-200 Lens
LR 100% Screen Grab.
Fuji X-T1, 55-200 Lens. JPEG SOOC + LR Sharpening

You can always see more of my work here: Drama King Images and at flickr

One thought on “Who said The X-T1 and the 55-200 can’t be used for sports? Not me

  1. Pingback: miXed zone: X-Trans Rocks :: 100-400, 35mmF2, 120mmF2.8 pictures and impressions, Travel X… and more! | Fuji Rumors

Leave a Reply

